Skip to content

Things I’ve Bought Recently

July 20, 2012

I have a secret. It’s actually not that big of a secret in my little circle of close friends but the rest of the world hasn’t known until now. Ready?

I love the Bachelorette.

There it is. I love trashy tv and I will no longer be ashamed. The Bachelor is pretty good too, but nothing compares to the Bachelorette. Not because of the guys. Some of them are attractive but mostly they just seem like bros and I have no interest in bros. But because of the CLOTHES! Obviously ABC wants the Bachelorette to look picture perfect all the time and gives these ladies drool-worthy wardrobes that I might consider embarrassing myself on national tv to get. Now I see the appeal of reality television.

This year’s Bachelorette has possibly been my favorite I’ve ever seen, especially after the horror that was Ashley’s season. Emily Maynard seems with it, down to earth, and like a super sweet lady all around. Ashley was whiney and insecure and obsessed with “trusting the process.” aka annoying.

The other day I found an article on InStyle magazine where Emily “revealed” her top 11 beauty secrets. It turns out she has been wearing an Essie polish called Ballet Slippers this season. I love Essie nail polish so clearly she and I are destined to be BFFs and of course I ran right out and bought the exact same color.

It reminds me a lot of Essie’s Marshmallow except a little more pink. It’s so close to Marshmallow from far away that I even said one night to Michael while we were I was watching that, hey Emily and I were wearing the same polish! Now we will be. BFFs I tell you.

Another thing Emily let the world know is that she loves overpriced lip gloss, but what do you expect? Apparently the gloss she was pretty much always wearing is YSL Volupte Sheer Candy #4 aka Succulent Pomegranate. Now don’t think I ran out and bought a $30 lip gloss, no siree. Instead I hit the Goog and discovered a blog comparing it to Revlon Lip Butter in Sweet Tart. Whether they actually anything alike I will never know because I don’t intend to buy the YSL gloss. But I did buy the lip butter for $7 at Walgreens.

This shade is such a lovely berry pink. It brightens up my lips and makes my face look healthier. It’s definitely a wearable color for a lot of skin tones and can be sheered out if you don’t want as much color. It’s not overly bright when it’s on and of course since it’s a lip butter it makes your lips feel so nice and moisturized. A+.

Now if only I could find a What Emily Wore blog. I almost wish I’d done one myself.

  • Do you have a style icon or a celebrity fashion inspiration?
  • Have you ever bought a product that you saw a celebrity wearing?
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

