Skip to content

Zucchini Tots

July 19, 2012

Today is my birthday! But instead of talking about that I want to talk about something I’ve been meaning to talk about for awhile now.

Zucchini tots.

Do you love tater tots? Of course you do. Who doesn’t love tater tots?

But do you love how much sodium and other preservatives are in frozen tater tots? Me neither. So I’m here to share with you a recipe I found via the Pinterest, because where else do people find anything anymore.

As someone who’s constantly on the lookout for healthy savory snacks this recipe jumped out at me immediately. All they are is zucchini, onion, eggs, a little bit of breadcrumbs and cheese (I like Daiya Mozzarella), and some seasoning (I use Tony Chachere’s Creole Seasoning which is perfect. 1/2 T per single recipe serving). Super delicious, super portable, and super not sweet. I generally get turned off my prepackaged snacks like granola bars, and even healthier things like Lara Bars because they’re sweet and when I want to snack I want some savory salty goodness like chips or crackers.

The only problem with this recipe are that it takes a long time to shred enough zucchini to make a decent sized batch of these because if I make a single recipe’s worth I eat them all in one day. This time I multiplied the recipe by six, YES SIX, and I still ate them all in three days. And only because I forced myself to let them last that long. They’re seriously that good.

Step 1: Shred 6 zucchinis if you are crazy like I am.

This is my Michael Graves shredder/mandoline from Target. It’s not nearly as nice as it looks.

Step 2 that should actually be step 1 if you are again crazy like me: food process your onion and cook it down until it’s soft and translucent. If you are less picky about onions just chop them up.

Step 3: Mix everything together and throw into mini muffin tins. Bake for 35-40 minutes if you are crazy like I am. If you make a single boring batch I think 20 minutes is about perfect. I like mine extra crispy.

Step 4: Eat! Seriously though, try not to eat them all at once. I dare you.

If you manage to keep these around for more than three days then you are a master of self control in my book. I’ve probably made these 4 or 5 times since I found the recipe a few weeks ago and when I start to get a snack craving these are it. I even went out and bought brand new mini muffin tins solely to make these because my old ones sucked. Try them. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

  • What are your favorite snacks? Salty, sweet, crunchy, ooey gooey chewy?
  • Do you like zucchini? If not you might still like these. Michael will not eat it any other way. Sometimes I feel like a mom sneaking veggies into her kids’ dinners haha!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

