Skip to content

Couch to 5k Week 1 Recap

July 16, 2012

When I started Couch to 5k I thought I’d write all about it every time I ran and try and document it really well. Last week after my second run I took photos which looked exactly the same as the ones I’d taken the first day and realized how boring and repetitive that would be. Instead I think I’m going to recap at the end of each week that way I can blog about things other than “Well today I ran” because that’s lame.

Week 1 went pretty well. I had planned to run Monday, Wednesday, and Friday but I ended up doing my third run of the week on Saturday instead because Friday morning I was feeling really lazy. It was a bad idea since I got up and cleaned the whole apartment Saturday morning so by the time I went to run I was already tired and my right knee hurt for the first half mile and I cramped the WHOLE time. But I learned that being lazy doesn’t pay. Do I want to get up early or do I want to be crampy?

All of my numbers looked like this.

Week 1 has you do a 5 minute warm up and then alternate 1 minute of jogging with 1.5 minutes of walking and a 5 minute cool down. My favorite thing about these workouts is that they’re short! For someone used to doing 60 minutes of cycling or 30 minutes of strength + 30 minutes of cycling to rehab my knee, having straight up 30 minute workouts is awesome. I do plan to add strength training back in once my shoulder feels better but until then I’m savoring the short workouts.

Today I started week 2 which bumps jogging to 1.5 minutes and walking to 2 minutes. It was incredibly hot inside our workout room for some reason today so this workout seemed really tough. The times when I was actually jogging were okay but once I started walking I felt like I couldn’t catch my breath. It sucked pretty hard but at the end I was so pleased that I’d stuck it out.

One minute longer and a teeny bit farther.

Obligatory sweaty post workout photo.

Overall I’ve been enjoying the program. I think it’s a great way for someone to start running or start running again if they have fallen out of the habit, had surgery like I did, or just generally need a good motivator. Knowing that I only have to go for 30 minutes and half the time is spent walking is a great motivator. Also knowing that I’m going to improve slowly but surely is rewarding. There’s a light at the end of the tunnel.

  • If you are a runner how did you start?
  • What keeps you motivated to stay physically active? What gets you out of bed in the morning or to the gym after work?
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

