Skip to content

Couch to 5k Week 1 Day 1

July 9, 2012

Today was actually the second time I did “Week 1 Day 1” because when I started last week Heather decided she wanted to start Couch to 5k too, so I said I’d start over and we could start together. I’d planned on starting the next day, which would have been Wednesday, but I’d made the mistake of pushing myself too far. After completing the program’s run at a moderate pace I decided to see how long it would take me to run a straight up mile (11 minutes) and come Wednesday my legs and booty were so sore! Talk about too much of a good thing.

Too much of a good thing did indeed lead to too much of a bad thing, which was me being lazy and not doing any exercising for the next 5 days. It was definitely not a good thing. Sorry, Martha.

Today when I got up to restart the program (since I have a better track record of completing things I start on Monday) I decided I was only going to do the program’s run, nothing more nothing less. The good thing about having already done day 1 before is that I knew I was taking it too easy last week. I upped my walking and running speeds and definitely felt like I got a more complete cardio workout this time.

My warm up and cool down speeds were level 4, my brisk walk was 4.3, and my jog was 5.5. I completed the workout in 30 minutes and “traveled”2.25 miles. I say “traveled” because all of this was done on the treadmill. I can’t even begin to explain how much I hate running outside. Maybe once I get back into decent running shape, but until then, no way.

Proof. I did some actual movement.

I also burned 218 calories. Not that I am too concerned about that since I’m not trying to lose weight, but I know that maybe some people are and knowing a ballpark figure of how many calories you could potentially burn doing this program at the speeds I’m using might be helpful for someone out there in blog world. Note: I am not a licensed anything, so don’t take my word for it. Talk to your doctor, etc. etc.

Working out = more cookies. Win, win!

The Couch to 5k program wants you to run 3 days a week for 9 weeks and at the end you’re supposed to be able to run a 5k, obviously. I might end up doing the program faster than that because 3 days a week seems pretty lame, but since I went 5 days without doing any kind of physical activity I guess I can’t say I have the motivation to do that.

I’d like to fit in strength training at some point because I know that will only make me a better runner but I’m currently nursing a shoulder injury, since I’m pretty much always healing from something, so we’ll have to wait and see on that too.

  • Have you done any kind of walk-to-run program? I did Prevention Magazines way back in the day but it’s definitely better for people with two fully working knees.
  • If you are a runner already, how did you start? What keeps you motivated? What’s your favorite way to run, outside or treadmill?
2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2012 4:05 pm

    Treadmill all the way baby. I’m trying to convince myself I’ll get outside when it cools off, but let’s be real, I like air conditioning, being plugged into a TV and having a water bottle at my side.

    • July 10, 2012 10:42 am

      That’s exactly how I feel! I love the control of running inside: speed, temperature, atmosphere. Running outside is hard and I am super spoiled!

Leave a Reply

